Here's what our guests have to say...

Birthday Celebration


CAROLE MANN October 2017

The house and grounds exceeded our expectations.

Everything in the house is of the highest quality.

A meal prepared and cooked by Charlie is a must, what a wonderful evening!! Lucy is always on hand to answer any questions, and is more like an old friend than a new acquaintance.

Family birthday celebration


Paul Rowley November 2017

We stayed for my mother's 70th birthday celebration. The house was perfect for all 14 of us, it is a beautiful house, so much space and had everything we needed for a perfect birthday celebration. Thank you for a wonderful stay - we'll be booking again for next year!

Americans Discover Darley House


Catherine Davis September 2017

Our family spent a glorious week in September at Darley House; six adults and two boys 10 and 12 made up our party and everyone savored the wonderful experience of living in such a beautiful and gracious home; teas and morning coffee were a highlight each day as we drank in the magnificent yard and gardens from the sunny parlor.

We all felt the joy of history and the gift of reliving a time past when there was time to savor life each moment. We cannot say enough to encourage anyone not to miss what we call Darley Home with the greatest affection and memories!

Just perfect


Linda Morgan July 2017

Stunning house, wonderful gardens, great location. Perfect in every way for our family gathering with ages ranging from 3 to 71. We even enjoyed the odd drop of rain as it allowed us to enjoy the spaciousness and comfort of the house.

Family Weekend


Barbara Feller June 2017

A beautiful house and the gardens are totally stunning. Our grandchildren simply loved playing in the garden and enjoying exploring the grounds. The house accomodated us all comfortably and the kitchen was well stocked for us to cook and prepare food for fourteen easily.

The Darley Family at Darley House


Simon Darley June 2017

We rented Darley House to celebrate our Parents 60th Wedding Anniversary. We chose Darley House for obvious reasons but it surpassed our expectations completely. The whole weekend was a great success with four generations of the Family being together from all corners of the Country in such a stunning Country House. Darley House was more than we could have wished for with plenty of room to be able to come together to celebrate such an important event. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend made all the more pleasant by the stunning weather and the opportunity to enjoy the garden and the croquet. Thank you

Lady of the manor for a weekend


Pauline Sutton June 2017

Beautiful, period property, finished to a high standard with modern bathrooms and kitchen. Lovely bedrooms and very comfortable beds. Our guests were able to enjoy the luxury of the house but still be comfortable and there was enough space for all. We spilled out into the garden after lunch to play croquet. Great fun! We found Darley House was enjoyable, functional and easy to 'live in' even for the short time we were there. I would love to visit regularly.....my weekend residence.

Exceeded Expectations!


Janice and Tony May 2017

We chose Darley House for our stay because we wanted somewhere special to celebrate our wedding reception with a small group of family and friends. It exceeded expectations and our guests were suitably impressed! The luxury and comfort the house offered was undeniable, each room had its own character, and the fittings and furnishings were well chosen. The garden was spectacular, so we have some great photos to remember the occasion. Charlie, a private chef, had been recommended and did a fantastic job for us. We played croquet and table tennis, placed our bets at the Casino, enjoyed a great karaoki and BBQd outside in the sunshine. Super fun, everyone had a great time, we hardly went out! Everyone was sad when the time came for us to leave and asked when we might come back. Thanks Lucy for everything.

Exceeded Expectations!


Janice and Tony May 2017

We chose Darley House for our stay because we wanted somewhere special to celebrate our wedding reception with a small group of family and friends. It exceeded expectations and our guests were suitably impressed! The luxury and comfort the house offered was undeniable, each room had its own character, and the fittings and furnishings were well chosen. The garden was spectacular, so we have some great photos to remember the occasion. Charlie, a private chef, had been recommended and did a fantastic job for us. We played croquet and table tennis, placed our bets at the Casino, enjoyed a great karaoki and BBQd outside in the sunshine. Super fun, everyone had a great time, we hardly went out! Everyone was sad when the time came for us to leave and asked when we might come back. Thanks Lucy for everything.

Darley House - thank you!


Leona Johnson April 2017

Wow, what a house! Simply stunning - really well equipped, fantastic garden - perfect for children to explore, beautiful location. Booking was really quick and the information sent by Lucy about the property & arrival in advance was great. Our recommendations include cycling the Monsal Trail (we hired bikes from Hassop station) plus the Shalimar restaurant for take away. We had a really lovely stay and hope to come back soon. Thanks!

Splendid, spacious, luxurious.......................


The Mitchells April 2017

We spent Easter weekend celebrating a 'special' birthday at Darley House. Plenty of space for all the family to spread out and all the mod-cons you could wish for. Charlie the chef provided a great celebration dinner and no washing up!

Fabulous house - perfect for a family get together


Paul & Lillie Jenkins April 2017

Stayed at Darley House for a recent family get together. Superb accommodation with every detail well considered. Plenty of space to relax and a great kitchen / dining area. Lovely garden with huge lawn for children to run and play. All in all, highly recommended. Would definitely rebook.

House and gardens are fabulous


Catherine Bryant April 2017

Excellent few days celebrating my 50th birthday with family. We live in different places so a great place for us to send time together. House and gardens are fabulous. Couldn't have asked for anything nicer.

...add up to a great week


Andrew, family and friends October 2016

Friends, fires, kids finding dens in the woods, lovely walks, food, late night table tennis tournaments all add up to a great week. Thanks!

Fab time


Steph October 2016

40th celebration, fab time, everyone loved it, thank you !

It was amazing!


Jo October 2016

My sister arranged a surprise 40th. It was amazing. Beautiful house and surroundings. I am overwhelmed with it all!

Stunning house and facilities


The Robinsons October 2016

Also came for a 40th birthday and had a wonderful time, stunning house and facilities, Craig (chef) was superb. Just what we all needed!

A Special Place for a Special Event


Brian Westlake March 2017

Darley house has a lovely feel to it, we walked in and knew immediately that we had made the right decision for our family weekend. It is a superb setting for family and friends to meet and enjoy special times together. The house is very spacious and fitted to an extremely high standard. All the members of our family agreed that Darley house did us proud and made my 70th birthday one we will never forget.

Company retreat


Matt Gowar February 2017

We used Darley house for a company retreat. The facilities are great, we used the 'games room' as a meeting room, and the kitchen for dining, which is easily big enough. We find the homely feel is great, our overseas staff love the true slice of old England that the house gives. We love the house so much, we dont actually leave and cook in every night in the amazing kitchen. This was our second booking, and we are about to make our third!

Beautiful place to build special memories


Nigel Howell Christmas 2016

My family and I spent Christmas 2016 together at Darley House. The large house gave us a focus to bring together the whole family from around the country and we can't speak highly enough of Darley House. There is plenty of space and amenities, it is all beautifully appointed, and the kitchen and large lounge become a real social hub for fun and conversation. You are made to feel very welcome on arrival and it's amazing how soon you feel completely at home there. In fact, for us, it soon stopped feeling like 'Darley House' and became 'Darley Home'! It's a great place for family or friends to gather and spend good time together amidst our busy lives. Don't hesitate - you'll love it!

Weekend Stay


Harminder Dhanjal January 2017

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Darley House to celebrate a birthday. The owner, recommended a chef and supplier of a hot tub which were both a great success with all the guests. It was a great shame that it rained the whole weekend so we could not explore the lovely garden as we would have wished. Although we booked the property at the last minute, the rental process was painless and the refund of the cautionary damages deposit was promptly repaid. We would highly recommend a stay at this period property that has been lovingly restored both inside and out.

What a wonderful setting to celebrate in!


The Healeys, Blacks and Moore families November 2016

My sister and I wanted to find a venue for a surprise 70th birthday party weekend for our parents, we chose Darley House because of its locality, size and we loved the look of the house from the website tour. I can honestly say that the tour video does not do this fabulous house justice, from the moment I stepped inside I was overwhelmed by the quality and class of the decor, every room being different but effortlessly flowing.

The owners have done a wonderful job of balancing old with new, as a property developer myself I can see the attention to detail in every nook and cranny. The house was the perfect place for our party, large enough for all our guests, plenty of glasses, crookery and cutlery, great music system and grand enough for it to feel extra special to our guests.

The bedrooms are large, light and airy, beautifully decorated with comfy beds. The en-suite facilities are fantastic, I had a very long soak in one of the free standing baths using the complementary toiletries and drying off using the large white fluffy towels. The grounds are stunning, we had several long walks around the garden and could imagine amazing garden parties being held within the grounds during warmer months (we stayed late Nov).

For us the highlights of our stay at Darley House were; being able to have long chats over meal times using the huge kitchen table, having cocktails in the drawing room with a log fire keeping us warm and of course, the party on Saturday night, bringing together family and friends, making life long memories to cherish.

Loved our weekend in this beautiful house


Anthony, Rachel and family September 2016

We loved our weekend in this beautiful house; and we were super fortunate with the sunny weather - made full use of the garden. Hats off to Joseph Paxton!

Good ping ping! Comfortable beds, thank you.

So appreciated Darley House


John and Elaine 3 daughters and partners, 6 grandchildren - Sept 2016

A lovely weekend to celebrate a 70th birthday. We so appreciated Darley House and gardens. Perfect for all ages. Thank you.

Garden was awesome!!!


Stewart, Joanna, Jonny and Ellen September 2016

It was great here. Garden was awesome!!! Will definitely come again to play ping pong too. Excellent place for family get togethers for three celebrations in a very special house.

Warm and comfortable ambiance


Chris, Jenny and family June 2016

Darley House has a lovely, warm and comfortable ambiance and has been the perfect place to spend our annual get together with our children and grandchildren. The house is beautiful and well equipped and Jayne, the gardener has made the garden beautiful again. Thank you.

Grand but welcoming home


Amy, Frank and family June 2016

Such a grand but welcoming home that made our special event even more special. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Just superb!


John and wife with 3 children and spouses and 5 grandchildren April 2016

Superb weekend, outings, walks, Sunday lunch. Superb meal from Charlie and Tony on Saturday night. Comfy beds and bathrooms! Roomy kitchen, log fire, spacious grounds! Superb 80th birthday celebrations.

Already planning our next trip


John, Barbara, Laurel and Will July 2016

Such an amazing weekend in this beautiful house - thank you!. We're already planning our next trip!

Can't think of a better venue


John, Jenny & family April 2016

We can't think of a better venue to have celebrated our Golden Wedding anniversary. The house more than met our expectations and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderfully retired home to our friends. Charlie, the private chef, made out weekend very special.

Everything was provided


Ann & Bill and family April 2016

We have had a lovely family celebration our golden wedding at the most beautiful, well equipped house we have ever rented. Everything was provided - we all enjoyed it!

A stunning house


Laura & Jessica April 2016

A stunning house for a memorable weekend. Thank you Lucy (your house is gorgeous).

The jewel of our honeymoon in England


Daria, Roman with our darling mom Elena and Trevor (from Moscow) October 2015

Weekend at Darley House has become the jewel of our honeymoon in England. A place where we felt like Prince and Princess. Magic garden, amazing bedroom, cozy atmosphere...Perfect place for spiritual communication with loved ones and enjoying the beauty of nature and man-made interiors!

Exquisitely and thoughtfully restored


Jo & Mitzi April 2015

Thank you so much for letting us stay at Darley House - it is beautiful....so exquisitely and thoughtfully restored and decorated and in such an incredible location. It has been like spending a couple of days in a wonderful dream! You can definitely escape the world here - it feels like a very special place.

All felt like royalty


Rob Brealey April 2015

"Had a fantastic '40th Birthday Weekend' in your beautiful house. We all felt like royalty made even more special by the gorgeous meal on Saturday night provided by the Private Chef Company and the massage and facial provided by Darlene Beauty. The only negative was that we had to go home. However, I am already trying to think of a reason to return. I will be telling all my family and friends about your stunning house.

Thank you Lucy and Alex


Nick Cottis, Ali Massey, Cathey Haughton December 2014

A truly amazing house with lots of different spaces to "be" in. Fantastic trip to Chatsworth with magical Christmas displays. A wonderful culinary delight at Fischers - 'Taste of Britain' menu. Thank you Lucy and Alex

Wonderful atmosphere of calm and beauty


Pat Hazelhurst December 2014

This is place to return to. A wonderful atmosphere of calm and beauty. Attention to detail has been the order of the day. A country retreat for all seasons.

Perfect for family events


Adrienne Gray December 2014

Darley House exceeded our expectations beautiful and comfortable. Perfect for family events to host any type of get together catered or un-catered. In the heart of beautiful walking and cycling countryside, inspirational natural and historic environment. Thank you

A time of tranquility and relaxation


Barbara Russell December 2014

We stayed in this beautiful house in December enjoying a calm, quiet few days in a glorious part of the world. Our trip to Chatsworth and its special Christmas exhibition was magical and was followed by a walk in the gardens once fortified with mulled wine and warm mince pies.

Darley House is set in peaceful grounds and takes you to a time of tranquility and relaxation. The rooms are gloriously grand with comfortable furniture to recline and read. The fully equipped kitchen allowed us to cook with ease and we also enjoyed a tasty dinner at Fischer's At Baslow Hall.

Bowled over by the grandeur


Stella Scordellis Friend and Photographer Sep 2014

I arrived on a crisp and sunny autumnal afternoon, the front door was left unlocked so I could make my own way into the house. I was bowled over by the grandeur of Darley House. I had a lovely warm homely feeling, I wanted to kick off my shoes, put my cosy slippers on and move in.

Brilliant and luxurious


Extended friends and family from Scotland, England and Ireland July 2016

Fabulous 60th birthday surprise - fab food and company. House was brilliant and luxurious - even the weather brightened up to have walks and drinks on the patio and fabulous garden.

Brilliant


Lucy's wedding July 2016

Had a brilliant time. Very lovely house and grounds.

...wonderful home


Jane & family July 2016

Fantastic house. We all enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home.

We love the house, everything perfect


Suzanne, John and Family July 2016

We love the house, everything perfect, everything thought of and well executed. Lots for the children and plenty of space. Best walk was Cromford canal and Black Rocks. Restaurants - Stones, Devonshire Arms and The Peacock - all top quality.

Truly amazing house


Sam & Pippa July 2016

A truly amazing house offering everything you could ever need or want. Thank you for allowing us to experience it on a wonderful weekend.

A wonderful house.


Ava's Taufe (Christening) January 2016

Ein wunderbares Haus. Wir haben uns hier in dieser selionen Atmosphäre seler coohl gefuhlt.

Fantastic time in this gorgeous house


Nick, Tina & friends February 2016

We have all had a fantastic time in this gorgeous house. It was my husband's surprise 50th birthday party/weekend and he absolutely loved it! We will be back.

Tranquil and homely


Ann, Ian & family February 2016

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovingly restored house. Tranquil and homely. We enjoyed our visit.

Wonderful Christmas


The Weindling Family December 2015

We have had a wonderful Christmas here. Thank you.

Right mix of luxury and practicality


Nick, Jessica and Conrad November 2015

What a beautifully renovated house, with just the right mix of luxury and practicality for large families across all age ranges! We don't think we'll ever play ping pong in such a stunning setting again! Thank you for thinking of all the small touches that made our stay so comfortable. Definitely recommended. Perfect setting for a 40th birthday celebratory week away.

Nick, Jessica and Conrad, plus many family members and friends

Truly memorable weekend


John, Mary & family November 2015

A truly setting for a truly memorable weekend. This home really was everything for everyone - even a mezzanine viewing area for me to watch my family birthday show! Thank you.

Great house for all generations


Emma, Alex & family November 2015

What a lovely surprise family weekend away for my 40th birthday. A great house for all generations. Drinks and nibbles by the fire in hallway and an amazing meal cooked for us by Charlie and Tony was fab. As was my sister's brilliant pass the parcel complete with mini-bar, milliners (party hats) and a make-over kit. Also very good for hide and seek!

Long weekend was utterly lovely!


Jessika Hulbert February 2015

My stay at Darley House for a long weekend was utterly lovely! It felt as though I had been whisked off to a smart, exclusive hotel, but without staff to get in the way! The big double bed was divine and attention to detail was foremost while also being relaxed and homely. There is so much to do and see in the surrounding area that I felt like never going home! Lucy and Alex have put their heart into the house, and it is translated by a feeling of welcome and well being which is hard to find these days! I can't wait to go back with my children and show them the delights that Darley Dale has to offer!

We had so much fun


Annabelle Age 9 - February 2015

Thank you for letting us stay at your house. We had so much fun. We all played outside and built a very big snow man. Josh and I played table tennis and he mostly won all of the games. The beds were really comfy I slept really well and I loved the big baths. Thank you for letting us stay at your house.